Guide

PayID Explained: Speed, Set-Up and Safety

How Australia's bank-account addressing service works, when payments are held, and what casino terms say about it

  • Updated

What PayID is and who runs it

PayID is an addressing service operated by Australian Payments Plus, the member-owned company that runs the BPAY, eftpos and NPP payment schemes (About AP+). It sits on the New Payments Platform (NPP), which the Reserve Bank of Australia describes as open-access infrastructure for fast payments, launched in February 2018 (RBA, The New Payments Platform). The RBA says the NPP was built so households, businesses and government agencies could make “simply addressed payments, with near real-time funds availability to the recipient, on a 24/7 basis”. The Reserve Bank also built the NPP’s settlement component, the Fast Settlement Service, which settles each transaction individually in close to real time.

AP+ states that the NPP connects over 100 banks, financial institutions and fintechs, and that money moves over it using Osko, PayID and PayTo (AP+, NPP). PayID is the “simply addressed” part: instead of a BSB and account number, the payer types something the recipient already has. Individuals can register a mobile number or email address, small businesses and sole traders can also use an ABN or Organisation Identifier, and each bank decides which types it offers (AP+, PayID for consumers).

A PayID can be linked to only one account, but one person can hold several PayIDs, for example a mobile number linked to one account and an email address linked to an account at another bank (AP+, PayID FAQs).

A PayID payment, step by step

The steps below follow AP+’s own description of paying a PayID: log in to online banking, enter the PayID, check the name shown, then send (AP+, PayID for consumers). The daily limit in the example is the bank’s, not PayID’s: the AP+ FAQ says banks may apply daily limits to account payments, including payments to a PayID, and that these vary between institutions (AP+, PayID FAQs).

The example shows the two things a PayID payment adds to an ordinary bank transfer: an address that is easy to share, and a name check before the money leaves. Everything else, including the limit, the security checks and any delay, is handled by the sending and receiving banks.

Is PayID instant?

Most PayID payments arrive within a minute, but no source promises every payment will be instant. AP+ says payments made to a PayID are “typically sent in under a minute through Osko, even between different financial institutions”, and footnotes that some payments may be held for additional security checks (AP+, PayID for consumers). Its FAQ tells people waiting on a payment that it should arrive in under a minute if it was sent to the correct PayID, and that security checks can delay some payments (AP+, PayID FAQs).

When a PayID payment can be delayed

Westpac lists three situations in which a fast payment may take longer: a technical interruption to the service, a payment to a first-time payee, and a payment caught for additional security screening (Westpac, PayID). Westpac also says real-time payments need both the payer’s and the payee’s accounts to be Osko-enabled. Those are Westpac’s own rules, and other banks word theirs differently.

If people cannot pay your PayID at all, AP+ says it may be locked and under a security investigation (AP+, PayID FAQs). For every kind of delay, AP+ sends people to their own financial institution, because the hold is applied by a bank rather than by PayID.

PayID versus a BSB and account number transfer

PayID is not faster than a transfer to a BSB and account number when both accounts use Osko. AP+ says Osko payments can be addressed either to a BSB and account number or to a PayID, and that a payment showing the Osko logo will be sent fast either way (AP+, Osko). What PayID adds is the simpler address and the name shown before you pay.

Registering a PayID does not stop people paying you the old way: Westpac notes that payers can still use your BSB and account number (Westpac, PayID).

How to set up and use a PayID

You set up a PayID inside your existing online banking; there is nothing separate to sign up to or download (AP+, PayID for consumers). AP+ says PayID is offered by over 100 financial institutions and is typically built into the “Pay Anyone” section of online banking (AP+, PayID). The usual flow is to open the PayID settings, choose the mobile number or email address to register, pick the account it should pay into and confirm.

Creating a PayID is optional, and some banks pre-register one for new account holders (AP+, PayID FAQs). If your bank says the number or email is already registered, AP+ suggests checking each bank you hold an account with, then asking your main bank to locate it. To move a PayID, you look for the move or transfer option in the online banking where it is registered. At Westpac, the old bank puts the PayID into a “transfer state”, and the customer then has up to 14 days to set it up at Westpac before it reverts (Westpac, PayID).

When you register, your name becomes visible to anyone who enters your PayID. Westpac states that once a mobile PayID is registered, “your details (including your name) will be available to people who use the service”. AP+ adds that some banks let you choose how your name is displayed.

Paying a business with an email PayID

Businesses can generate a unique email-format PayID for each customer, typically shown at online checkout or on an invoice, so the payment can be matched to an order or account (AP+, PayID FAQs). You pay it like any other PayID, and you should be shown the name of the business or organisation registered to it before you send. AP+ says to check that the business is legitimate before paying, whatever payment method you use.

The name on screen is whoever registered that PayID. If it is a private person’s name, or a company that has nothing to do with the shop you think you are paying, stop and find out why before sending money.

Limits and fees

There is no single PayID limit. As the worked example shows, the daily limit belongs to your bank, covers payments to a PayID and differs from one institution to the next (AP+, PayID FAQs). Your bank’s own figure is in its online banking or its fees and limits guide.

Fees are also set by the bank. Westpac says PayID costs nothing to set up and that there are no fees for making and receiving PayID payments, although other account fees and charges may apply (Westpac, PayID). That statement covers Westpac accounts only, so check your own bank’s fee schedule.

Is PayID safe?

PayID payments carry the same protection as your other online banking payments, and the name check adds a layer, but PayID cannot tell you whether the person or business you are paying is honest. AP+ says payments using a PayID are protected by the same level of security as existing bank account payments, and that the personal details behind a PayID are covered by your bank’s privacy policy (AP+, PayID FAQs). Seeing the registered name before you send helps protect against fraud, scams and mistaken payments (AP+, PayID).

The name check is separate from Confirmation of Payee. AP+ explains that Confirmation of Payee works with BSB and account numbers: it compares the account name, BSB and account number you enter with the recipient bank’s records and shows a match outcome (AP+, PayID FAQs). Creating a PayID also requires the verification steps of online banking, so if you believe someone has registered your details as their PayID, AP+ says to contact your bank.

Messages that claim to be from PayID

Any email or text message claiming to come from PayID is a scam. AP+ states that PayID will never contact you directly, and that it will never ask you to send money to receive money or to “upgrade your account” (AP+, PayID). Its FAQ adds that messages asking you to upgrade to a business account are also scams. The rule holds wherever the message arrives, including through an online marketplace: a PayID payment shows up in your bank account, not in an email.

If someone you do not know sends money to your PayID, AP+ says not to return it and to contact your bank instead (AP+, PayID FAQs). If you think you have been scammed, it says to contact your financial institution and report it to the police.

‘Scambling’

AP+ puts its warning this way: “‘Scambling’ is slang for illegal online gambling platforms advertised on social media and messaging apps that trick people to visit a scam website to participate in gambling. If you are asked to transfer funds to a PayID on an illegal gambling site, it is almost certainly a scambling website” (AP+, PayID). The same page adds: “You cannot win money from these sites, or get your money back if you have been ’scambled.” The responsible gambling page lists where to get help with gambling harm.

PayID and online casinos

PayID deposits are confirmed for 0 of the 30 casinos we cover, and PayID withdrawals for 0. That is a finding about published evidence, not proof that PayID is unavailable: on 7 October 2026 we also checked the logged-out payment and promotion pages from an Australian connection, and on 9 October 2026 those of the ten casinos reviewed since; PayID was not listed at any casino, but the logged-in cashier was not checked, so the methods shown to an Australian account may differ.

Deposits and withdrawals are separate questions

A PayID deposit and a PayID withdrawal are different services, and a casino offering one tells you nothing about the other. Paying in works like paying any business that issues a unique email PayID: you send money from your own online banking and see the registered name first (AP+, PayID FAQs). Paying out runs the other way and needs the casino to send money from its own account to yours. Some casinos also restrict which methods can be used to withdraw; RocketPlay’s FAQ, for example, states “you can withdraw only by the same method you used to deposit” (RocketPlay FAQ).

PayID’s speed only applies once the casino releases the money. Before that come the casino’s pending review, its processing time and, usually, identity checks: 28 of the casinos we cover state that verification is required before the first withdrawal. Our guides to casino withdrawals and casino KYC explain those steps.

What the casinos we cover publish

The first table shows the PayID status recorded for each casino. Every cell reads “Not confirmed” because PayID appears on none of the pages we read, and for several casinos, including Bizzo Casino, Crowngreen, CrownPlay, Gambloria, HellSpin, Slota Casino, Spinathlon, Spinline, StoneVegas and WinSpirit, no per-method payments table could be read at all.

PayID deposits and withdrawals in the published terms of the casinos we cover
Casino PayID: deposits acceptedPayID: withdrawals supported
Bizzo Casino Not confirmed Not confirmed
Crowngreen Not confirmed Not confirmed
CrownPlay Not confirmed Not confirmed
Crownslots Not confirmed Not confirmed
DragonSlots Not confirmed Not confirmed
Fair Go Casino Not confirmed Not confirmed
Gambloria Not confirmed Not confirmed
Golden Crown Casino Not confirmed Not confirmed
Goldex Not confirmed Not confirmed
HellSpin Not confirmed Not confirmed
Jet4Bet Not confirmed Not confirmed
Lucky Capone Not confirmed Not confirmed
Lucky Ones Not confirmed Not confirmed
Neon54 Not confirmed Not confirmed
Neospin Not confirmed Not confirmed
Ozwin Casino Not confirmed Not confirmed
Richard Casino Not confirmed Not confirmed
Ricky Casino Not confirmed Not confirmed
RocketPlay Not confirmed Not confirmed
RollXO Not confirmed Not confirmed
SkyCrown Not confirmed Not confirmed
Slota Casino Not confirmed Not confirmed
Spinathlon Not confirmed Not confirmed
Spinline Not confirmed Not confirmed
SpinRise Not confirmed Not confirmed
Stay Casino Not confirmed Not confirmed
StoneVegas Not confirmed Not confirmed
VikingLuck Not confirmed Not confirmed
WinSpirit Not confirmed Not confirmed
Woo Casino Not confirmed Not confirmed
Values from published terms; latest check 9 October 2026. "Not confirmed" means we checked and could not confirm a value.

The second table shows the bank-transfer withdrawals the same casinos do publish, with their stated processing times.

Bank-transfer withdrawals and published processing times
Casino Bank transfer: withdrawals supportedBank transfer: published processing time
Bizzo Casino Yes Not stated
Crowngreen Yes Not stated
CrownPlay Not stated Not stated
Crownslots Yes up to 3 business days †
DragonSlots Yes Not stated
Fair Go Casino Yes Not stated
Gambloria Yes Not stated
Golden Crown Casino Yes up to 3 business days
Goldex Yes 5–7 business days / up to 3 business days (sources differ)
HellSpin Yes Not stated
Jet4Bet Yes up to 3 business days
Lucky Capone Yes Not stated
Lucky Ones Yes Instant
Neon54 Not stated Not stated
Neospin Yes 1–3 business days
Ozwin Casino Yes up to 2 business days †
Richard Casino Yes up to 3 business days / 3–5 business days (sources differ)
Ricky Casino Yes up to 3 business days
RocketPlay Yes 3–7 business days †
RollXO Yes up to 3 business days
SkyCrown Yes up to 3 business days
Slota Casino Yes Not stated
Spinathlon Not stated Not stated
Spinline Yes Not stated
SpinRise Yes up to 3 business days †
Stay Casino Yes up to 3 business days
StoneVegas Not stated Not stated
VikingLuck Not stated Not stated
WinSpirit Not stated Not stated
Woo Casino Yes 1–5 business days / up to 3 business days (sources differ)
† Operator claim, not independently verified. Values from published terms; latest check 15 October 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we could read do not cover the point.

Bank-transfer withdrawals are listed by 24 of these casinos. Read the processing-time column as the casino’s side of the wait: on these terms, the casino’s own processing, not the transfer method, decides how long a payout takes.

Most casinos in both tables carry a regulator caveat. ACMA, the Australian regulator, has formally warned a company it named as a provider of each casino we review except Crowngreen, DragonSlots, Fair Go Casino, Gambloria, Goldex, Jet4Bet, Lucky Capone, Ozwin Casino, Slota Casino, Spinathlon, Spinline, StoneVegas, VikingLuck and WinSpirit; Fair Go Casino and Ozwin Casino are on its 2021 list of services found in contravention, without a warning (ACMA investigations page). Spinline and its sister brand Slota Casino are among those exceptions, although ACMA has warned companies both sites name over other services. Our online casinos comparison sets out each warning, and every review quotes its own. 9 casinos in the tables exclude Australian players, by their terms or by refusing Australian connections (Crowngreen, CrownPlay, Gambloria, Lucky Capone, Neon54, Spinathlon, StoneVegas, VikingLuck and WinSpirit): WinSpirit’s terms exclude anyone physically present in Australia (WinSpirit terms), Gambloria’s terms list Australia among their Restricted Countries (Gambloria terms, clause 4.5), Crowngreen’s Terms of Services list it among the “Prohibited Jurisdictions”, although its site still served Australian connections (Crowngreen Terms of Services, clause 5.2), and CrownPlay, Lucky Capone, Neon54, Spinathlon, StoneVegas and VikingLuck block Australian visitors outright (CrownPlay, as shown in Australia; Lucky Capone, as shown in Australia; Neon54, as shown in Australia; Spinathlon, as shown in Australia; StoneVegas, as shown in Australia; VikingLuck, as shown in Australia). ACMA’s blocking list is a separate record: at our check, ACMA’s list of gambling websites it has asked Australian internet providers to block named the official domains of 16 of the 30 casinos in these tables (ACMA blocked-websites list).

Documented examples

Some casinos list an Australian bank-based deposit route that is easy to mistake for PayID: 4 casinos list JetBank Transfer deposits (Fair Go Casino, Ozwin Casino, SkyCrown and Stay Casino).

Ozwin Casino: an Australia-only bank route that is not PayID

What the casino's pages state: Yes Verified — operator's own pages

“Discover the power of JetBank Transfer for seamless and speedy deposits! Available for Australia Only.”

Source: Ozwin Banking methods (Ozwin Casino), checked 15 October 2026.

Our analysis:

JetBank Transfer starts in the player’s online banking, which makes it look similar to PayID. Ozwin’s banking page, however, describes buying a voucher by bank transfer rather than paying a PayID, so there is no PayID name check to rely on. Ozwin lists it for deposits; its withdrawals to a bank account go by bank wire, covered below.

Ozwin Casino: the bank-wire payout timeline

What the casino's pages state: up to 2 business days Operator claim

“Please note: Depending on your bank, it might take up to 10 business days to receive the winnings after they have been processed on our side. Processing time: 2 business days”

Source: Ozwin Banking methods (Ozwin Casino), checked 15 October 2026.

Our analysis:

The published timeline is counted in business days at both ends: a processing period on the casino’s side and then, in Ozwin’s own words, a bank transfer that “might take up to 10 business days”. Our analysis: set against AP+’s statement that PayID payments are typically sent in under a minute (AP+), the timeline shows that a casino’s payout method and processing rules shape a player’s wait far more than the speed of the payment network.

The PayID casinos page tracks PayID status casino by casino as more cashiers are checked, and the withdrawal policy study compares the wider withdrawal terms. Reviews of every casino named here are listed under casino reviews.

Frequently asked questions

Is PayID the same as Osko?

No. PayID is the address, and Osko is the AP+ service that moves the money. Osko payments can be sent to a PayID or to a BSB and account number, and Osko is only available for domestic payments (AP+, Osko).

Which is faster, PayID or a bank transfer?

Neither, if both accounts use Osko: AP+ says an Osko payment is sent fast whether it is addressed to a PayID or to a BSB and account number (AP+, Osko). The difference is the address and the name check, not the speed.

How long does PayID take to receive money?

Typically under a minute, according to AP+, with the exception that some payments are held for security checks (AP+, PayID FAQs). A payment to a first-time payee or one caught for screening can take longer, as Westpac’s PayID page notes (Westpac). Your bank is the only party that can say why a particular payment is held.

How much does PayID cost?

Fees are set by your bank, not by PayID. Westpac, for example, charges nothing to set up a PayID and no fees for making or receiving PayID payments, although other account fees may apply (Westpac, PayID).

Do I need to set up PayID for someone to pay me?

No. Someone can still pay you with your BSB and account number (Westpac, PayID). Setting up a PayID lets them use your mobile number or email address instead and see your name before they pay.

Can I use PayID at online casinos?

Not on the evidence we hold: PayID withdrawals are confirmed for 0 of the 30 casinos we cover, on the pages we could read. If a cashier offers PayID, check separately whether it is offered for withdrawals, and check the name shown before paying.

Sources

  1. PayID — Fast and easy payments — Australian Payments Plus (AP+). Official payment provider · checked 1 October 2026
  2. PayID for consumers — Fast payments with confidence — Australian Payments Plus (AP+). Official payment provider · checked 1 October 2026
  3. PayID — FAQs — Australian Payments Plus (AP+). Official payment provider · checked 1 October 2026
  4. Osko — Fast, secure payments — Australian Payments Plus (AP+). Official payment provider · checked 1 October 2026
  5. NPP — Revolutionising the flow of money — Australian Payments Plus (AP+). Official payment provider · checked 1 October 2026
  6. About AP+ — Australian Payments Plus (AP+). Official payment provider · checked 1 October 2026
  7. The New Payments Platform — Reserve Bank of Australia. Regulator · checked 1 October 2026
  8. PayID — Fast Secure Payments (Westpac) — Westpac Banking Corporation. Official payment provider · checked 1 October 2026
  9. Frequently Asked Questions — RocketPlay (Scores55 Tech B.V.). Official operator · checked 15 October 2026
  10. Investigations into online gambling providers — Australian Communications and Media Authority. Regulator · checked 7 October 2026
  11. Terms and Conditions — WinSpirit (Complete Technologies N.V.). Official terms · checked 15 October 2026
  12. Terms & Conditions (in force from 2025-02-12), as loaded from Australia — Gambloria (Bitosa Dynamics Ltd). Official terms · checked 9 October 2026
  13. Terms of Services (last updated 24 July 2026), as shown in Australia — Crowngreen. Official terms · checked 9 October 2026 · status: Redirected
  14. Australian-locale homepage — "Access restricted" page shown to an Australian visitor — CrownPlay (crownplay.com). Official operator · checked 15 October 2026 · status: Unreachable
  15. Homepage — "Sorry, you can't access this site in your country" page shown to an Australian visitor — Lucky Capone (luckycapone.com). Official operator · checked 9 October 2026 · status: Redirected
  16. Homepage — "Access restricted" page shown to an Australian visitor (HTTP 403) — Neon54 (neon54.com). Official operator · checked 15 October 2026 · status: Unreachable
  17. Homepage — "Access Forbidden" page shown to an Australian visitor — Spinathlon (spinathlon.com). Official operator · checked 9 October 2026 · status: Unreachable
  18. Australian-locale homepage — "Access restricted" page shown to an Australian visitor — StoneVegas (stonevegas.com). Official operator · checked 9 October 2026 · status: Unreachable
  19. Australian-locale homepage — "Access restricted" page shown to an Australian visitor — VikingLuck (vikingluck.com). Official operator · checked 9 October 2026 · status: Unreachable
  20. Blocked illegal gambling websites — alphabetical list (data feed of the ACMA page) — Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA). Regulator · checked 9 October 2026 · archived copy of 11 May 2026

Change log

  1. Ten newly reviewed casinos added (Crowngreen, Crownslots, Gambloria, Lucky Capone, Neon54, Slota Casino, Spinathlon, Spinline, StoneVegas, VikingLuck)

    The two PayID and bank-transfer tables on this guide now list 30 casinos, still with no PayID confirmed. The note on casinos whose payment tables could not be read gains Crowngreen, Gambloria, Slota Casino, Spinathlon, Spinline and StoneVegas, the regulator paragraph adds eight casinos to the list without a warned provider, and the casinos that refuse or exclude Australian players now include Crowngreen, Gambloria, Lucky Capone, Neon54, Spinathlon, StoneVegas and VikingLuck.

  2. Five newly reviewed casinos added (Jet4Bet, Lucky Ones, Goldex, DragonSlots, SpinRise)

    Jet4Bet, Lucky Ones, Goldex, DragonSlots and SpinRise were reviewed and published, so the PayID and bank-transfer figures on this page now include their payment pages and terms.

  3. Casino links and offer cards added

    Offer cards with links now appear across the site (see the affiliate disclosure). This page had said most casinos appeared in its tables for completeness only, not as options; it now states their regulator records.

  4. PayID table caveats list every warned casino

    Both PayID tables flagged only Bizzo Casino, Stay Casino, Golden Crown Casino, HellSpin and RollXO as included for completeness. Formal warnings we had not recorded name the providers of seven more casinos in these tables, from Neospin to Woo Casino, so the completeness note now lists and cites each one; Fair Go Casino and Ozwin Casino are noted as appearing on ACMA's 2021 outcomes list without a warning.

  5. Five newly reviewed casinos added to the comparison

    HellSpin, RollXO, Neospin, CrownPlay and Golden Crown were reviewed and published, so tables, counts and the casinos shown only with caveats now cover fifteen casinos instead of ten.

About the author

Photo of Arvilla Winslow

Arvilla Winslow

Web Content Editor

Arvilla Winslow is a web content editor at Online Casino News. For Pokies Online AUS she writes and edits the casino reviews, comparison pages and guides. She builds each page from operators' published terms, licence registers and the site's structured fact records, and every fact she uses shows its source and check date.

Covers: Online casino terms and conditions, Casino payments and withdrawals, Bonus terms and wagering requirements, Licence registers and identity checks (KYC)

Found an error? Tell us and see how we correct it.